Sister by Rosamund Lupton is concoction  of crime and drama, oh my they go well.  Synopsis taken from amazon:

 

When her mom calls to tell her that Tess, her younger sister, is missing, Bee returns home to London on the first flight. She expects to find Tess and give her the usual lecture, the bossy big sister scolding her flighty baby sister for taking off without letting anyone know her plans. Tess has always been a free spirit, an artist who takes risks, while conservative Bee couldn’t be more different. Bee is used to watching out for her wayward sibling and is fiercely protective of Tess (and has always been a little stern about her antics). But then Tess is found dead, apparently by her own hand.

Bee is certain that Tess didn’t commit suicide. Their family and the police accept the sad reality, but Bee feels sure that Tess has been murdered. Single-minded in her search for a killer, Bee moves into Tess’s apartment and throws herself headlong into her sister’s life—and all its secrets.

Though her family and the police see a grieving sister in denial, unwilling to accept the facts, Bee uncovers the affair Tess was having with a married man and the pregnancy that resulted, and her difficulty with a stalker who may have crossed the line when Tess refused his advances. Tess was also participating in an experimental medical trial that might have gone very wrong. As a determined Bee gives her statement to the lead investigator, her story reveals a predator who got away with murder—and an obsession that may cost Bee her own life.

A thrilling story of fierce love between siblings, Sister is a suspenseful and accomplished debut with a stunning twist.

This book took the reader on a journey which was full of twists and turns. As soon as I thought I knew what had happened the story did a 180 and I had no idea what had happened but was still left gasping for more. I like the story being told as she wrote letters to her sister and spoke to a journalist, it gave some pause when the journalist went away and added suspense.

I like stand alone books to have a nice clear cut end, that leaves the reader knowing exactly what happened. I am sorry to say this was not the case in this book. The ending was very ambiguous, I even read the a Q&A with the author to try and shed some light on the ending, her answer was that it was up to the reader what happened. I wanted to pull my hair out when I read, I was infuriated!

Other than the ending it was a good read but if you do not like ambiguous endings I do not think the book is for you.

I am thinking of doing a section on favorite characters and what makes them so great, also a section on the cleverness of Harry Potter and how each character or element is so well thought out. Hopefully this will mean less time between blogs. I have been busy and not had that much time to read, but I plan to change that.

Last but not least, I entered a writing competition and am in the top two. There is a vote to see who wins, here is the entry. http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1382530-two-finalista-for-writing-competition

I am not going to say which one is mine just now because that is unfair. I will post my short story here ones the winner is announced (even if I come second).

Night bookworms.

 

