The Broke and the Bookish encourages other bloggers to join her in Top Ten Tuesdays. This weeks topic is first lines and impressions from my to be read list. Only ten I need a couple hundred. Choosing which ones to include is going to be difficult. I have chose 5 from my shelf and 5 from my kindle, in no particular order.

1.  The Iron Butterfly by Chanda Hahn the iron butterfly

When I first awoke in the darkness that was my prison cell, I was brave, fearless and I still had enough fight in me to question the rules. “

I cannot remember what this book is about but it makes me think that there is going to be some sort of fight and possible overtake of government, I like books like this, looking forward to it.

2. The Children’s book by A.S. Byatt Byatt_story_1398961f

Two boys stood in the Prince Consort Gallery, and looked down on a third.”

Okay so this does not tell you much about what is going on, I know the book is about upper class people in Edwardian times, so the first thing that goes through my head is, are the literally looking down on the third boy or figuratively.

3. The Selection by Kiera Cass the selection

” When we got the letter in the post, my mother was ecstatic.”

Okay, not much to go off of here, reminds me of the start of Harry Potter with the letters but that’s it.

4. The Knight by Gene Wolfe the knight

You must have stopped wondering what happened to me a long time ago; I know it has been many years.”

The only thing I get from this is that it might be written like a letter or a story.

5. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia beautifulcreaturesbk

” There were only two kinds of people in our town.”

Hmmmm, I am guessing it’s a story about the two different kinds of people?

6. Across the Nightingale floor  by Lian Hearn across the nightingale floor

” My mother used to threaten to tear me into eight pieces if I knocked over the water bucket, or pretended not to hear her calling me to come home as the dusk thickened and the cicidas’ shrilling increased.”

I like how it starts with the guys child hood, probably just a little to see how he gets to where the story starts but it looks like a good start.

7. The Gardens of Almhain by Laura Mallory gardens of almhain

The sky was an endless canvas of poor craftsmanship.”

Looks like it’s going to have lots of flowery writing and descriptions which I like, also the first sentence seems a little sad.

8. Skull and Bones by John Drake Skull-Bones1

The six-pound shot came aboard with a scream and a hiss, smashing one of the mainmast deadeyes, punching holes through the longboat secured over the waist, taking off the arm and shoulder of a seaman, as neat as a surgeon’s knife … and throwing the limb shivering at his feet, as if still alive.”

Oh action packed from the sentence, I like it. A little bit gruesome too, but not too much, as you can tell from the cover it’s about pirates and the first sentence does not hide it.

9. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness 220px-Knife_of_Never_letting_Go_cover

“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is dogs don’t got nothing much to say.”

I do not like the writing style at all, this may have put me off ever reading the book. I will try the first chapter but if it keeps up like this, it is getting deleted off my kindle straight away.

10. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness Discovery_Of_Witches_gl_30s_320x480

” The leather- bound volume was nothing remarkable.”

The only thing that I get from this is that is possibly about a book. I have been wanting to read this book for ages, but I keep forgetting about it when I am picking up a new book.

Tomorrow will be a review of Matched by Ally Condie, until then, night bookworms.

