So last week’s celebrating the author was on Maria V. Snyder, it went amazingly well, Maria herself read my blog and posted it on her facebook page, also sent me a thank you email. As you can imagine I was grinning from ear to ear. Time to celebrate another author. Trudi Canavan

. trudi canavan

What has she written?

The Black Magician trilogy (The Magician’s Guild, The Novice, The Highlord and The Magician’s Apprentice (prequel)). The Traitor Spy trilogy (The Ambassador’s Mission, The Rogue, The Traitor Queen) and my personal favourite The Age of The Five (The White Priestess, The Last of the Wilds and The Voice of the Gods). A new series called Millennium’s Rule will be out in 2014 (the first one the 2014, second on 2015 and the last one in 2016).

A little about her.

She is from Melbourne, she has been nominated for a few awards and has won at least one for a short story. She uses music to inspire new story ideas (I know the feeling, a couple of words can spark an idea for a whole story). Sorry that’s all I could find about her.

Her favourite authors

J.RR Tolkien, Guy Gravial Kay, Robin Hobb, Neil Gaiman, Tanith Lee, Louise Cooper, Tad Williams, N.K. Jemisin and Gail Carriger. I have heard a few of these but these will be added to my to be read list.  She has also read Cold Magic by Kate Elliot, Casting Spells by Barbra Bretton and Rogue Gadda by Nicole Murphy.

Research

I assume she does some research, but since a lot of it is all made up by her wonderful imagination there probably is not too much. I did see on on of her blog posts that she sailed a blokart for research recently. Wow wish I could do that as research.

Personal Experience

Other than reading her books I have none. I actually came across her by accident, saw The White Priestess in Waterstones in a 3 for 2 offer and decided to give it a go. I was not disappointed in the slightest.

Her Blog

Here is link to her blog, if you would like to know a little more about her and her writing.

Until next time, happy reading bookworms.

