AR_AnyOtherName

Any Other Name by Emma Newman.

Cat has been forced into an arranged marriage with William – a situation that comes with far more strings than even she could have anticipated, especially when she learns of his family’s intentions for them both.

Meanwhile, Max and the gargoyle investigate The Agency – a mysterious organisation that appears to play by its own rules – and none of them favourable to Society.

Over in Mundanus, Sam has discovered something very peculiar about his wife’s employer – something that could herald a change for everyone in both sides of the Split Worlds.

General Overview

4.5 stars out 5

It srtarted exactly where the first book in the first book in the series left off. It was full of different stories coming together, new people being introduced and new conspiracy theories. All the characters I loved in the first book were back. Lord Poppy is still my favourite and I like seeing a different side of him. The writing is excellent and the story reads easily.

Step by step review

0% – This is the second book in the series, thoroughly looking forward to it as the first one was really good. I like how there was a synopsis for each character.

10%– I am liking how everything starts again where it left off. I want the wedding to work. We have not yet been introduced to Londonium yet, wanting to see how it differs.

20% – I feel really sorry for the kidnapped people since they cannot return to their families ever. Lord Poppy seems cruel but he is a fantastic character to read about. The forfeits he comes up with are funny and genius.

30% – I want Cathrine and Will to have a happy marriage and at least be friends. I still want to know who Lord Iron is and hour why is he protecting Sam, guessing it’s through his wife. Really want to find out.

40%- I am not a fan of the relationship with Will and Amelia. I love the letterbox just appearing and letters coming through, it’s clever.

50% – So the agency is under suspicion, want to know how a company that deals with all staffing of houses has gone un-noticed. Lord Iris is summoning Catherine, I am intrigued. In such an unpleasant way,seems like he might be cruel.

60% – Still not liking that Will is sleeping with Amelia, she is up to something, I just do not know what. Was worried that Will would do something terrible but glad that he did not.  Thank Goodness.

70% – The gargoyle can touch Cathy without being hurt, does that mean he does not count as a man, even though he has a soul of a man? How does Cathy have an ipad and camera if they do not have electricity? The wedding rings of Sam and his wife are getting a plot of their own, big fan.

80% –  Standing up for woman’s rights is not something I have read in a fantasy novel before, a clever idea if it does not go into too much politics. I am not sure that Amelia and Cornelius are brother and sister, there seems to be a hint at another relationship. Some of the language reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.

90% – There’s conspiracy theories everywhere, so many places this story could go.

100% – I am getting a little confused with all the names, families and conspiracy theories/ stories flying about, hopefully they will come together in the next book. The gadgets the Arbiters have sound awesome, I wish they were real. So two wars have begun. Cannot wait for the next book.

