the island

The Island by Jen Minkman.

‘I walk toward the sea. The endless surface of the water extends to the horizon, whichever way I look.

Our world is small. We are on our own, and we only have ourselves to depend on. We rely on the Force deep within us, as taught to us by our forefathers.

If I were to walk westward from here, I would come across a barrier – the Wall.
Behind it, there are Fools. At least, that’s what everyone says.
I have never seen one.’

Leia lives on the Island, a world in which children leave their parents to take care of themselves when they are ten years old. Across this Island runs a wall that no one has ever crossed. The Fools living behind it are not amenable to reason – they believe in illusions. That’s what The Book says, the only thing left to the Eastern Islanders by their ancestors.
But when a strange man washes ashore and Leia meets a Fool face to face, her life will never be the same. Is what she and her friends believe about the Island really true?

Or is everyone in their world, in fact, a Fool?

General Overview

This was a good storyline but I did not enjoy the star wars references, it made it all a little annoying, (nothing against Star Wars, just felt like it was trying to make it about Star Wars. The writing was good and the rest of story was good and a nice ending.  The character’s were interesting. If the Star Wars bit had not been in it, it would have been 4 stars out of 5. Has a few inconsistencies too.

3 out of 5 stars.

Step by step overview

0% – I like the idea of this book, it shows innocence and that you cannot always believe what you are told, looking forward to this.

10% – Good so far, it’s only 138 pages long so the story should move fast. So far everything has been well explained.

20% – Not much more has happened, just getting how things work in this society. And getting to know the characters and their relationships.

30% – Wait, What? Did she just reference Star Wars? Now I have never seen it but Hans Solo is from Star Wars, right? And the force? Are these people meant to be from outer space or just given information about a fictional film series as their own history, by their ancestors? And there’s a Luke, Leia and someone called the Dark Father. I am hoping that somewhere in the plot that is revealed that an ancestor was a fan of Star Wars or something, otherwise this is just silly.

40% – At least one sentence doesn’t make sense, it is like the author removed a sentence but for got to take out the response. I am not enjoying this as much as did to begin with.

50%– All I am going to say is nice twist, Did not see it coming. Starting to like it a little better now.

60% – The story is going exactly where I expected it to go. Still liking the writing style.

70% – For people who have no contact with the outside world, they use a lot of modern day terms. It’s fast paced which I like.

80% – How does someone who has only seen a few books, know what a booklet is? Okay I know it’s only a small thing, but it bugs me only a little.

90% – I like the idea of how this came about, there a few flaws though. I wish there was more on how it all came about.

100% – Good ending, everything was explained well and the whole Star Wars thing was cleared up.

 

Unfortunately, this will be my last post for a few days, going to my best friends wedding, cannot wait 🙂

Until next time, happy reading, bookworms.

