witchfall

Witchfall by Victoria Lamb

London, 1554. At the court of Mary Tudor, life is safe for no one. The jealous, embittered queen sees enemies all around her, and the infamous Spanish Inquisition holds the court in its merciless grip. But Meg Lytton has more reason to be afraid than most – for Meg is a witch, and exposure would mean certain death. Even more perilous, Meg is secretly betrothed to the young priest Alejandro de Castillo; a relationship which they must hide at all costs.

In the service of the queen’s sister, Princess Elizabeth, Meg tries to use her powers to foretell her mistress’s future. But when a spell goes terribly wrong, and Meg begins to have horrifying dreams, she fears she has released a dark spirit into the world, intent on harming her and those around her.

I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review from Netgalley.

General Overview (no spoilers)

I thought this book was really good. It was (mostly) historically correct, full of magic, love, loyalty and betrayal. I love Meg, she is a great character, strong but admits her weaknesses, wants the best for her mistress even if it means losing her love. She wants what is best for everyone she loves.

4 out of 5 stars

Step by Step Overview (spoilers)

0% – This is the sequel to Witchstruck which I enjoyed greatly, only been a  month or two since I read the first one and I already cannot remember some of the small threads of plot. I have only heard/seen good things about this book, cannot wait to get started. The title suggests something bad will happen to Meg but we will see.

10% – I love the setting of this series, would have hated to live then though. Probably wouldn’t have been so bad if you were a commoner but all accounts make it seem terrible to be at court, so why does everyone want to be there? The writing style is nice and flows easily, the story has picked up straight where the first one left off.

20% – Is Mary going to give birth? I am pretty sure she does not in the little history I remember.

30% – Poor Blanche , never really liked her but she is loyal and no-one deserves that treatment. Now poor Meg, will she be able to wangle her way out of it? It’s horrible how people can be so cruel to each other. It sickens me.

40% – Evil spirits – looks like things are getting interesting and dark – I like. I have really taken to Meg, she is a brilliant character and Alejandro sounds like the perfect guy.

50% – Now in the countryside where Lady Elizabeth grew up. Some new characters have been introduced which is good. I like Alice who has been in it for a while. Is Marcus Dent back? What is the black form that Meg keeps seeing? Could it be the spirit of Anne Boleyn?

60% – King Henry VIII, I like hearing stories about him, even if at this point in history he is dead. Could the creature somehow be him and Marcus Dent together? Or just whoever the see-er fears most?

70%- Hopefully soon we will find out exactly what or who the dark spirit is and how to get rid of it.

80% – I am loving this part of the book, it is original and clever, very enthralling. Is Meg alive or dead?

90%  – Does that mean the dark spirit is gone? Are they still in danger? I now have no idea how this is going to end, although I know how I would like it to end – Queen Mary to die and Lady Elizabeth be crowned and Meg can move to Spain with Alejandro.

100% – A third love interest for Meg. I am glad it did not turn into the cliched love triangle, Meg only ever had eyes for one man. Nice end I would have liked a clearer confusion but that’s just me.

Who would I recommend it to?

Anyone who likes historical fiction or old fashioned witchcraft. Or just want something a little different.

Until next time, Happy reading bookworms.

