the reckless enginerr

  Jack Connor’s lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire  heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen’s extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas.  He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor.  Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy  Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.

         Jeremy Stone brings London’s top defence attorney, Harry Stavers, to handle his best friend’s defence.

         Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim’s house?  Who is “KC” who Caitlin makes secret calls to from a untraceable mobile?  Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter’s first partner and is he capable of killing again?  Is Caitlin’s brother Ronnie McAllen’s power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law?  Is the divorce from Jack’s first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be?  Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance?  Who are the ghosts from Caitlin’s past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage?  What is the involvement of Jack’s manager at Marine Electronics?

​        While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister Harry Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend’s life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense tale of love, power, and ambition.

2 Stars out of 5 – Did not finish

I recieved this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

OKay, so this is a difficult review for me to write. I did not get very far through this book. I do not often read crime anymore and when I do, I am usually very picky about which authors I read. I probably should have said no to reviewing this book but it looked really good. Like I said I did not get very far. I was trying to read it for about a week, trying to make sure it wasn’t me, not in the mood etc, which it might have been, once I get it in my head I am not in the mood for a book, it is very hard to get back into the mood.

I think the story line was excellent, the parts that I did not like, were my issues, why I am saying this, because it was little things that put me off, not the story line. I am a big believer in “each to their own”. On a different day I may have loved this book.

I liked the start, it was nice writing style and flowed well. It was straight to point, which I really liked for a crime novel. After a few pages I felt it was not so much a story as “here’s all the background you need to know in one info dump” Not very exciting and my cup of tea. I like learning bits and bobs as I go along the storyline. There were two sets of couples mentioned, both the males started with J and both the females started with M, I kept getting confused as to who belonged with who, (I was reading this late at night, but still).

I hate giving DNF reviews as I feel it’s not fair to the author especially with how little I read, (I did try for over a week though). I know how much work people put in and I think Jac Wright should be commended for a book that has gotten some great reviews, but sorry it is not for me.

Who would I recommend it to?

People who like crime, mystery and are not as fussy as me.

