the snow queen

The Snow Queen by Alan Albertson

Five years ago, Cambridge Ballet’s Sugar Plum Fairy vanished after performing The Nutcracker. Despite extensive city and statewide searches, no traces of her, besides her ballet slippers, were ever found. Every year since, another member of the cast has gone missing after closing night: a Spanish Hot Chocolate, an Arabian Dancer, The Dew Drop Fairy, a Flower. Nieves Alba, who as a thirteen-year-old played Clara in the first ill-fated performance, is now cast as the Snow Queen. On closing night, every police officer in Boston surrounds the theater, determined to catch the perpetrator whom they’ve dubbed “The Nutcracker.” Can Nieves break the curse or will she be the next victim of America’s favorite ballet? (Synopsis from Goodreads).

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley.

General Overview (No Spoilers)

It was only 54 pages long so it was fast paced yet not rushed. The story flowed well, it was exciting and full of mystery and love, wrong choices and loyalty with an air of magic. There were a few holes in the story for me, but easy to overlook. I like the characters. I had a little trouble with that it was not until it stated her age that I realised that Nieves was at the start only 13, then during the main part of the book 18, she seemed older, it was a little disconcerting.

4 out of 5 stars

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0% – I have never seen any ballet but always wanted to, they are graceful and beautiful, will that come off in the book? I like the idea of the book. It’s short so should be able to read it very quickly.

10% –  Wow, the writing is tiny, had to get my glasses out. Nice mystery to start, a lovely writing style. Itching to know what happened to Sveta.

20% – Jumped five years, lets she what happened. So far five years in a row one member of the Nutcracker cast has disappeared. If it was me, I would not be preforming, but it’s their passion, so maybe it’s worth it to them?  The titles of of each chapter are titled like a play (ballet as well I assume). Acts and Scenes.

30% – It’s a nice touch putting names of real ballet dancers in (okay I had to google them check) but if you knew about them would give more realism to the book.

40% – Is Misha behind all the attacks? Is it a wannabe ballet dancer?

50% – Dis Misha drug her? He is getting really suspicious now.

60% – Ahh, I think I know what is going on, somehow Misha has managed to shrink each of the dancers and put them in the snow globes.

70% – I am hoping for a twist here, will she end up with tough but sweet Evan?

80% – He got rid of the other snow globe that looked like Sveta? Is that why she suddenly turned up?

“I’ll teach you how to please me” – No decent guy says that.

90% – Will her and Evan be trapped in there forever? There’s a snow globe council?

100% – How did no-one else notice that each of the girls Misha dated went missing? And if Evan knew why did he not go to the police? Or at least tell the police where he was going so when he was reported missing they would know where to look. I did not really understand how they were meant to get out, and why Misha could dance in the globe? I enjoyed it, it was a thrilling magical story, with only a few creases that need ironed out.

Who would I recommend this book to?

Anyone who likes light  NA, there is a few fairly descriptive sex scenes, I do not really read NA much, and they did not bother me, so if you like the sound of a book about ballet, this is for you.

