taste of darkness

Taste of Darkness by Maria V Snyder. This is the third and final book in the Healer series.

She’s fought death and won. But how can she fight her fears?

Avry knows hardship and trouble. She fought the plague and survived. She took on King Tohon and defeated him. But now her heart-mate, Kerrick, is missing, and Avry fears he’s gone forever.

But there’s a more immediate threat. The Skeleton King plots to claim the Fifteen Realms for his own. With armies in disarray and the dead not staying down, Avry’s healing powers are needed now more than ever.Torn between love and loyalty, Avry must choose her path carefully. For the future of her world depends on her decision.

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review

General Overview (No Spoilers)

I love Maria V Snyder’s books, this one was no exception. It was full of the things I adore, magic, love, loyalty and of course interesting bad guts and story lines that keep the reader guessing. It took me a while to get back into this story but it was worth it. I guessed some plot paths but not the main ones, Snyder took the reader on a journey that twisted and turned and left them wondering which path was the right one. It was a nice end to the series. I would have liked a little more on the end, about what happened to Avry and more on Flea’s magic. But still a great story.

I would like Belen included more, he was one of character’s that made the first two books for me, and I wanted to see more of him.

4 stars out of 5.

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0% – I have read and enjoyed the first two books in this series, really looking forward to the conclusion. I cannot remember all the plot points but I should pick it up as I read this one.

10% – Please Kerrick come back. You are one of the best characters. What else can Flea do with his magic, what type of magician is he?

20% – “I don’t care if they fight in the name of broccoli. The goal remains the same.”

I found that line extremely funny. I am liking Avry and Prince Ryne getting on better but not quite friends, it adds some depth to the story. Has Kerrick turned green? How did Kerrick get the message from Flea about where his pack was? Is it one of Flea’s new powers? There is no separation between Avry and Kerrick’s POVs, which is annoying but it might just be my review copy.

30% – Will Kerrick be able to leave the forest, ever?

40% – Who is the Skeleton King and what does he want? Will Ryne really have them arrested?

50% – Quain is a sweetheart. The conditions in the Monastery are outrageous. I hope they rescue all the women and take them back to be in Ryne’s army. Ryne will take them back if they bring him 2000 new soldiers.

60%- I really like how Avry and a few other characters are saying “Thank the Flea”, it adds humour in dire situations. Things are starting to look up but they still have the Skeleton King to contend with and what is Celina up to?

70% – Does that mean Belen is safe? I have missed him. Eww, they eat their prisoners, that’s just wrong.

80% – So the skeleton King has at least five princelings, well four now. And Wynn is back, wonder what she wants? I am guessing Wynn has joined forces with the Skeleton King. Could the Skeleton King be Sepp?

90% – It’s nice to see the soldiers of Avry’s enemies showing compassion, it’s just a few evil people dishing out the orders. I really like Belen’s character, loyal no matter what. Ryne is smart although Avry would never betray her friends, he does not underestimate the enemy and since they are all after Avry, it is wise.

100% – What are Flea and Kerrick up to? I think the end was a little sudden and could have been explained a little more. But still a great end.

Who would I recommend this book to?

Anyone who likes fantasy especially magic, adventure, loyal characters and a good story.

