City_of_ember

City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau.

The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters. (Synopsis from Good reads).

General Overview (No Spoilers)

I really enjoyed this book, I watched the film a few years ago and really enjoyed it, so I knew the basic storyline before reading, which took away some surprise, but did not ruin the book for me. I found the characters exciting, believable and found myself rooting for them even when I knew what was going to happen. There was some differences from the film, which made it more engaging for me. I am looking forward to reading the next one in the series. I think if I had not watched the film first it might have been 5 stars, but still a wonderfully enjoyable read.

4 stars out of 5.

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0% – I am hoping I will still enjoy this book even though I know the main story line, I should because I loved the film.

10% – Enjoying the story so far, I have not watched the film for a few years which is good because I cannot remember all the smaller parts of the story. I am liking all the little details that films miss out, it’s the main reason I love books so much, there’s so much more that can be conveyed in books than films.

20% – Lina’s intrigue and wonder are compelling to me. I find character’s like her make a very engaging read. I am glad that you see from both Lina and Doon’s POVs.

30% – I like the author’s writing style, she uses simple but effective ways to get her point across. When Lina is happy she seems to know everyone’s names, like one big family, When she is scared the people she passes become just men and women. It’s a nice way that adds to Lina’s feelings.

40%- It’s nice how something as simple as coloured pencils can make Lina so happy, it shows that when you do not have much of something it makes it more precious.

50% – At last someone else is as excited about the paper instructions as Lina. I wonder what city Lina keeps drawing?

60% – Aww no poor Granny. Is the guard in on it too? Or is he now just going to steal everything for himself?

70% – Finally they are getting somewhere, will they manage to convince the whole town to escape?

80% – If there’s such a paper shortage how can they put posters up everywhere? And why does no-one question it. Go, Lina, run.

90% – This part is different from the film. I wonder what they will find when they leave Ember?

100% – I wish you found out whether or not the rest of the city got out, but I am sure we will find out in the next book in the series. I really enjoyed this. I have high hopes for the next book in the series.

Who would I recommend it to?

Anyone who likes YA or dystopian books, or both. It was a nice easy fun read, well worth it.

