pavarthi

Parvathi Ramkumar is an excellent author who I have the privilege of being friends with on Goodreads. I read and reviewed her book The Grove of the Sun review here.

“The Grove of the Sun” is the story of Order, Chaos, and one man’s quest to save his land from destruction. Chimera is Ildanis’s home, the only home he has ever known. Order rules Chimera, and Chimera relies on Order, and its elemental forces of Water and Earth. But Order cannot keep itself away from Chaos forever, nor can it avoid confrontation with Eventide, wielders of Chaos. Chimera cannot understand, does not want to understand, the forces of Fire and Air. But Ildanis sees what is hidden from plain sight – that Order and Chaos were separated through man’s folly, and neither Order, nor Chaos, are as they claim to be. (Synopsis from Goodreads).

Here is the interview she very kindly agreed to do.

1. Which author inspires you the most?

I read quite a bit, and I’ve found inspiration in nearly every book I’ve read. So many authors have new and exciting ideas! If I had to choose among English language authors, though, I’d say J.R.R. Tolkien, Jane Austen, Brandon Sanderson, Daphne du Maurier and Robert Jordan. I’m also inspired by the poetry of Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

2. Who is your favourite author and which of theirs is your favourite?

Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien are my favourites. I also enjoyed Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier.

3. If you could choose to be on the side of order or chaos, which would it be?

Chaos, I’m sure.

4. Do you have any plans for any more books?

Yes, I’m working on a couple right now.

5. Where is your favourite place to write? And why?

My desk, next to a large window. It’s a cheery place for me. In the mornings, you can hear the birdsong and the rustle of the wind in the trees, and feel the golden sun.

6. Do you listen to music whilst writing or do you write in silence? If you listen to music, what kind?

I listen to music occasionally when I write. Usually, they’re videogame soundtracks. I like music from the Elder Scrolls games, especially Skyrim and Oblivion. But I prefer silence whilst working, lest I get distracted.

7. If you could meet any author dead or alive who would it be and what would you say to them?

Perhaps Virgil. I’d like to know why he wanted the Aenid destroyed.

8. How long did it take you to write your first book?

The Grove of the Sun took over seven years to write.

9. Have you ever read a book and thought, “I wish I had that idea, it was amazing” if so which book?

Most books seem to have that effect on me! I’m impressed by so many writers.

10. Do you plan out your story meticulously before writing or do you do a rough plan then jump straight in?

I think up the skeleton of the plot in advance. The rest of it is filled in as I go along, but later I rework entire scenes if they do not fit into the overall scheme of things.

11. Which of your characters do you think you are most like?
There’s a bit of me in everyone, I guess. A little here, a little there.

12. If you could visit any fictitious world, which would it be and which character would you like to meet most?

Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree is fascinating! As for characters I’d like to meet…maybe Smaug from The Hobbit.

13. What’s the hardest thing about writing a book, for you?

The editing. It’s painful. I’m used to it, but it’s still quite the task.

14. How many drafts did you write before your book was ready to be published?

I’ve worked through several drafts. More than eight, I imagine.

15. What’s the nicest comment you have had about your book and how did it make you feel?

Someone told me they couldn’t stop reading, and that they didn’t want it to end. That made me feel blessed.

16. Who was the first person you told that your book was being published?

I told quite a few people, actually. Friends and a few relatives, as well as my editors in the newspaper I write for.

Like the sound of this fascinating book? Want to buy it on Amazon.

Happy reading, until next time.

