spychild

Spychild by Harper Alexander.  Her blog can be found here.

Welcome to the game… For generations, the capital city of Cerf Daine has been terrorized by a group of slinking criminal masterminds known as the Spykin. Operating from a secret headquarters, they strike whenever the danger is greatest, playing genius dark games for the simple thrill of it. But recent times have seen their kind dwindle away, as the folly of their obsession with danger demands its price. One by one, they have all been caught. All except Clevwrith, and he is determined to carry on the Spykin’s legacy. By taking on an apprentice, he intends to mold a creature equal to himself, another that can never be caught. This requires that he teach his apprentice everything he knows, disclosing all of his deepest, darkest secrets. But everyone has secrets of their own. And when you teach a stranger to play dark games without rules, the next move can come in any shape or form. …Rules are forbidden. (Synopsis from Goodreads).

General Overview (No Spoilers)

I really enjoyed this book, it was really well written and the characters and setting were incredible. The two main characters had a lovely spark that was a joy to read about. I was thinking at first that the writing was not suited for the age range, but it grew on me once I got used to it. It was a really good story but lacked a little action for my liking. Really looking forward to the next one though. I wish I had read this one sooner, it has been sitting on my kindle for ages.

4 stars out of 5.

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0% – “Rules are forbidden” Hmm that sounds like a rule. Looks different and full of adventure. Aimed at young teens, should be a nice easy read.

10% – I quite often skim read unimportant parts, I don’t even realise I am doing it half the time. But I am drinking in every melodic word of this wonderful story so far. It is enchanting, the writing style is beautiful. I am not sure yet what the little snippets of italic writing at the start of each chapter are but they are intriguing.

20% – It’s reminding me a little of Way of Shadows but for me this book is better. Clevwrith is called the spymaster, but not sure why that is yet, not sure exactly what he does. They don’t seem to be seeking information but only time will tell.

30% – It’s a charming well written story I still don’t know what the Spylord wants, but I don’t mind I am enjoying the journey.

40% – Will she be saved or will she be taken to prison? I hope she manages to escape.

50% – Will pretending to be the spymaster backfire? It’s a nice easy going thrilling adventure just now.

60% – Wait what? What lesson was he trying to teach her by kissing her? OOh the dance had a picture, a clever one at that.

70% – It’s a trap. So this foreign woman can link to animals, possibly not humans then.

80% – Did she go with the King to gain information, which it seems like, or does she truly want to be there?

90% – Why hasn’t Clevwrith tried to rescue her yet? Since it’s been a while since we have heard from his point of view, I am guessing he is up to something. Oh please don’t have taken to violence Clevwrith, you are better than that.

100% – Please don’t betray him, please let it be a game that means he won’t get hurt. I am not sure where this is going but I am looking forward to it.

Who would I recommend this book to?

Anyone who likes fantasy or strong characters. It’s a book about stealthy characters who are not doing any harm and just trying to survive.

