stormbreaker

Stormbreaker (Alex Rider Mission 1) by Anthony Horowitz.

They told him his uncle died in a car accident. Fourteen-year-old Alex knows that’s a lie, and the bullet holes in his uncle’s windshield confirm his suspicions. But nothing prepares him for the news that the uncle he always thought he knew was really a spy for MI6 Britain’s top secret intelligence agency. Recruited to find his uncle’s killers and complete his final mission, Alex suddenly finds himself caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse. (Synopsis from Goodreads).

General Overview (No spoilers)

I loved this film, watched it about 20 times, since I saw the film before the I read the book, does it live up to expectations? Yes. There was not that much variation from the film, but the characters were realistic and relatable. It was full of action but I liked how Alex always knew the danger and was not reckless, a good role model for younger readers. I am looking forward to reading the second book in the series. I want some of the gadgets he got, they would be so cool to play with, a yo-yo that could carry your weight, so cool and so clever.  I was glad there was no romance in it, just shows you don’t always need a love interest to be a great book.

4 stars out of 5.

Favourite Quote:

“Your never to young to die”

Okay so it’s the tagline to the book and movie, but it’s clever and shows how ruthless these people are.

Favourite Scene:

The one with the giant jellyfish – if you’ve read the book or watched the film you’ll know which one I mean.

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0%- Since I have seen the film many times, I know the basic storyline, so hoping there’s enough to keep me entertained.

Page 20 – I am glad some of my favourite lines from the film are from the book, it makes me very happy.

Page 40 – I do like how it’s not exactly the same as the film. I have surprises to look forward to.

“No. The bank wouldn’t kill him. He didn’t even have an account there.” – I thought this line was genius.

Page 60 – That’s unfair, they are practically forcing him to be a spy. Blackmail is not the way to treat a 14 year old boy, even one who is mature for his age.

Page 80 – Flashback montage in a book – Anthony Horowitz I love you.

Page 100 – Kicking wolf out of plane made me smile. Herod Sayle is a bit of a creepy character. Adds to the story though.

Page 120- The only thing I am missing from this book is suspense and intrigue, but that’s my fault not the authors. Still really enjoying it though.

Page 140 – I loved the snooker part, it’s shows Sayle’s character well, he is a sore loser. Does Alex not find it odd that Sayle is upset about £4000, but is okay about giving away millions of pounds worth of computers free? Does it not make him suspicious?

Page 160 – Cheesewire and a flame thrower= Brilliant. I remember the ruin of the church from the film and find it very endearing – it gives beauty to a terrible situation.

Page 180 – I love the idea of Ian helping Alex from beyond the grave.

Page 200 – I was fooled for a second by Fraulein Vole, just for a second though.

Page 220 –I like that he is not willing to kill in cold blood. It shows he is a kind person.

Finish – What can I say? I loved it. It lived up to expectations.  Nice easy enjoyable read.

Who would I recommend it to?

Anyone who likes YA, spy mysteries and generally good books that are nice and clean.

