I was pretty ill over the last few days and wanted something nice and easy to read, without having to stop to review properly. I chose Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. I have watched the T.V. series, so I knew the story, I just needed enjoy.

pretty little liars

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series. (Synopsis from goodreads).

I really enjoyed the story so far, it was a little slower in plot than I expected but it was exciting, full of drama. Not quite sure I’d class it as YA because of all the drinking, drugs, murder and other issues it deals with. It’s a little over the top, but not so much so that it put me off.

4 out of 5 stars.

Okay, I am British but I did not act like that as teenager, I know some do drugs and things but thinking it’s okay to pursue your teacher is a little bit farfetched. It is a shame that they all lost contact and are not being true to themselves. I do look forward to finding out where each story takes us.

I have heard that the ending of the T.V. series is different from the book and I think I remember reading who A is in the books, but I do not know who killed Alison (if you find out). I am hoping in Flawless, the girls become friends again and you find out much more. I really do not like Mona, in the book she is quite mean and does not seem to care about Hanna.

Would I recommend this book? Yes I love it so far. I would say it’s for older teens that are not so susceptible to the idea of the only way to be popular is by being skinny and pretty and mean. Will be reading the second one soon.

