grim

Grim by a variety of authors.

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today:

Ellen Hopkins
Amanda Hocking
Julie Kagawa
Claudia Gray
Rachel Hawkins
Kimberly Derting
Myra McEntire
Malinda Lo
Sarah Rees-Brennan
Jackson Pearce
Christine Johnson
Jeri Smith Ready
Shaun David Hutchinson
Saundra Mitchell
Sonia Gensler
Tessa Gratton
Jon Skrovan

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed this book, it had a lot of different takes on the fairy tales. Some were brilliant and truly inspired, some others did not hit the mark for me. None were terrible, just some were not for me and I only read them to get to the next one. I found the varying inspiration for the stories, time periods and settings really refreshing. I am only going to give a brief overview of 5 stories, I though 17 was too many. I tried to vary the stories as much as possible.

Overall 4 out of 5 stars.

The Twelfth Girl – Malinda Lo – This was a great story, a modern take on myths written in an enchanting way. I thought the modern setting was great, and there was enough mystery there to keep me satisfied.  5 out of 5 stars.

The Raven Princess – Jon Skovron – Nice message, really intriguing, loved the giants. Would love to see what the ravens find in the distant lands. 4 out of 5 stars.

Before the Rose Bloomed – Ellen Hopkins – It was okay. It did not flow well for me. I was left feeling slightly confused at times. 3 out of 5 stars.

Light it up – Kimberly Derting – Based on Hansel and Gretel. This story is set in modern times. It is brilliant. I loved how the writer got little bits of the original story in but still made it her own. 5 out of 5 stars.

Beauty and the Chad – Sarah Rees Brennan – Wow, what a story. It was fun, quirky and just down right amazing. My favourite of all the stories.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes fun exciting takes on fairytales.

