darkridge hall

Darkridge Hall by Michael K. Rose

An evil lurks in the depths of Darkridge Hall, and Andy, a new student at Kransten Academy, is about to meet it face to face.

When threatening, shadowy figures appear outside his dorm room window, Andy decides to solve the mystery of just who or what they are. But those same shadows may be responsible for the strange deaths that have been occurring in the town of Bethlehem, Maine over the past several decades.

As Andy, his teacher Mark Harris and police chief Charles Buck struggle to put the pieces together, they soon realize that the answer may come too late for them to stop the malevolent power behind it all. (Synopsis from Goodreads).

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

At first I found the whole concept of this story a little strange at first, but then I got into it. It was thought-provoking and clever. The idea of shadow people going unnoticed for 80 years is quite frightening. How many people sensitive to them are there in a small town though? And why kill Tony years after he left school and not when he was there?

I like how there were three main characters, all different. One cop who cannot see the shadow people. A teacher who can see the shadow people but has been denying his gift his whole life. A student who can see the shadow people and is ready to embrace his gift. It gave the book depth and some reality. I found the setting good and mostly believable, there were a few parts that made me think “This would never happen” but nothing major so I forgave it. I do think the Headmaster of the school would have stepped in at some point, but hey, it was needed for the story.

I enjoyed the ending, how it all made sense, I liked the references to history, not sure if they are all true or not, but it was nice to read. I did feel the end was rushed a little. But not so much that it put me. I was a big fan of how you got to see a glimpse of what happened after the mystery has been solved, gives the reader some closure.

Overall it was a enjoyable fun read with dark elements that made you really feel for the characters. I will read more from this author, the writing style was really good. I would recommend this to anyone who likes YA, light horror or paranormal. My favourite character had to be Chief Buck.

4 out of 5 stars.

Happy reading

Emma

