first impression

First Impression by Pauline Creeden.

Chira Kelly thought she didn’t need anyone…until she met Ben.

Because of one ugly rumor, Chira lives as an outcast at her school. Which is fine with her, because she works better alone. Always has, always will. And at least she has her one and only true friend, Tasha. When Tasha insists that they join a group to visit a possibly haunted abandoned old schoolhouse, she’s wary, but joins her friend. Because of that decision, their lives are in jeopardy as a malevolent spirit targets the group. Tragedies and accidents pick them off one by one, and Chira finds herself drawn to the one person who can see the truth. But can he protect her?

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

General Review (No Spoilers)

I loved this book, it was not exactly what I was expecting, it was better. It was very YA but with mystery, paranormal and romance. I was not exactly sure to make of the paranormal part. It was not magic or vampires or zombies, it was something new, once I got my head around it, I really liked it. I liked the characters, they were fun and relatable. The story flowed well and was exciting. I was kept guessing at what was going to happen. Ben, sounds like a dream. He is good looking but not full of himself and really cares for others, my kind of book man. I really liked Tasha as a character, just wish we saw more of her.

It was the first book in a long time that I have sat and read in one sitting. It really was that good.

Favourite Quote

I watched for the owl with my Hogwarts letter to appear on my 10th birthday, but he never did. So when an owl taps at my bedroom window near midnight six years too late, I am more confused than elated.”

That’s the very first line to the book. Other than Harry was 11 was not 10 when he got his letter, it’s a very clever start, most youngsters can relate, I know I wanted a letter badly.

5 out of 5 stars.

Step by Step Overview (Spoilers)

0% – Looks like a good fun YA paranormal story. Not sure yet what is paranormal about it but looking forward to finding out.

20% – I am loving the fact that Chira loves her life, it’s no where near perfect but she makes the most of it and does not complain. It’s refreshing for YA. So far it’s a fun read with some hints of possible magic and/or ghosts. I really like Chira and Tasha. They seem great friends and I like how people who think they are gay really don’t care other than it’s gossip.

40% – Not sure what a Shadow Maven is yet but I am enthralled by this story. I cannot seem to put it down. I am hoping Tasha comes out of her coma, she is a fantastic character.

60% – Is a spirit after them or is it coincidence? Ben reminds me of Edward Cullen, just not quite as creepy. I want to know what happened to the ghost girl and what does it have to do with the story?

80% – Okay so did all the people who were downstairs in the haunted house see something or at least Tasha saw something and someone is killing off all 5 of them and making it look supernatural? The person who killed the Fairfax girls perhaps?

100% –Could the killer be Mr Scott? That’s how he knows who to go after? Okay, wow what a great way to end the book, I like how there was some closure with the characters, you get to know how they are after the fact. It also leaves room for more books. Which I would love to read. 🙂

Who would I recommend to?

Anyone who likes YA paranormal, or a good light-hearted mystery. Fans of books like Fallen and Twilight.

