the testing

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say? But how close is too close when they may be one in the same?

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it. But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career.

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one.

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every grueling (and deadly) day of the Testing. To survive, Cia must choose: love without truth or life without trust.

Loved this. It was exciting from the first word. It reminded me a lot of the Hunger Games but in a good way. There is parts I would not recommend to younger or squeamish readers.

There was one character I never trusted the whole way through, but I did trust another and I was completely wrong in my assessment. I like it when the author can fool me like that.

The characters were believable and mostly likeable. Especially Tomas and Will. I felt myself caring about their safety. I am a little worried there is going to be a love triangle in the next book. I hope not.

There are still a lot of questions left to be answered. I am looking forward to book two.

5 out of 5 stars

