conduits

Mara is a Japanese-American girl with a history of personal tragedy. Though she still cuts herself to quell the pain, she thought the worst was behind her. But her boyfriend’s sudden death, and a visit to one of the most haunted places in Washington State, sends her into a spiral of madness, landing her in a psychiatric ward.

Already suffering from dreams of a strange, ghost-infested house in the woods, Mara begins to question the very existence of reality. She is forced to confront the truth about her older sister’s death and the reason the ghosts have chosen her as their conduit.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I was not really a fan. It felt rushed and jumbled, I was confused for most of the book. I did not know which way was up. The start I loved, I honestly thought it was going to be right up my alley, but then I was struggling to even read the next page. I probably wouldn’t have if it was not a review copy.

The cutting was a part that I felt was over romanticised. I felt like the book was making it sound like a good thing, a beautiful thing. Okay it’s not a young adult book so it will adults reading it and they can make up their minds, but it put me off.

At points I had no clue as to what was happening, who was alive and where the main character actually was. There were a few inconstancies.

Overall, it was well written but not my kind of thing.

3 out of 5 stars.

 

