the thief

The king’s scholar, the magus, believes he knows the site of an ancient treasure. To attain it for his king, he needs a skillful thief, and he selects Gen from the king’s prison. The magus is interested only in the thief’s abilities.

What Gen is interested in is anyone’s guess. Their journey toward the treasure is both dangerous and difficult, lightened only imperceptibly by the tales they tell of the old gods and goddesses.

For starters I love the cover, it’s intriguing but doesn’t give much away.

I am in love!! This book was amazing. It had me from the word go. I was fully engrossed in the story. I had no idea where it was going. There was always something I needed to find out that kept me reading. What were they going to steal? Where were they going to steal it from? Who stole the food?

The setting was wonderfully realistic and full of beautiful descriptions. I loved the stories about the history of the gods and the different countries. It was very refreshing.

Gen was a bit of an enigma, I had confusion at the start because I could swear the main character was female (I was wrong). I never got a grasp of how old he was, I could take guesses but wasn’t sure. It was a minor thing, but it would have helped get a better picture of the character for me.

Pol, was quiet and you didn’t find out too much about him, but I was a massive fan. Everyone trusted him.

The story progressed well and full of interesting action.

I am looking forward to the next book very much.

5 out of 5 stars.

