nocturnal academy

Alice Dibble, about to start high-school, is accepted into the prestigious Nocturnal Academy, a school for supernatural creatures. Alice is both overjoyed and horrified to discover that she is a vampire.

To make things even more interesting, her worst enemy, Toby Thompson, has also been selected. He is a werewolf.

But before Alice can even start at the Nocturnal Academy she must come to terms with her new identity, defeat Toby’s old bully friends who have discovered the truth about her, and expose a local coven that wants to raise the Demon-Lord Vladrakov.

The cover in my opinion is horrible, reminds me of the sixties for some reason and not in a good way. The book itself was much better you will be glad to hear.

It was quite simply written but since the main character was twelve years old this suited the tone of the book well. I did think that Alice acted too old at times, she was acting more 16 that 12 at times. The storyline was good, flowed well and kept me guessing. I was sure I knew what was going to happen, but I was wrong in some aspects which was good, it was a nice surprise.

It was good to see bullying not tolerated but a stronger punishment would have been nice.

Overall it was a good read, I would highly recommend it and I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

Four out of five stars.

