every ugly word

When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school bullies taunt and shove her. She can’t go a day without fighting with her mother. And no matter how hard she tries, she can’t make her best friend, Matt, fall in love with her. But Ashley also has something no one else does: a literal glimpse into the future. When Ashley looks into the mirror, she can see her twenty-three-year-old self.

Her older self has been through it all already—she endured the bullying, survived the heartbreak, and heard every ugly word her classmates threw at her. But her older self is also keeping a dark secret: Something terrible is about to happen to Ashley. Something that will change her life forever. Something even her older self is powerless to stop.

Similar books in my opinion

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The synopsis of this book really intrigued me. But then I started it and wasn’t that thrilled. I took me a while to get into it. But then at about a quarter of the way through I could not put the book down, I ended up finishing the rest in one sitting after having putting it off for a few days.

It took me a while to get used to the idea of Older Me in the mirror. I wasn’t sure how much it would effect the story. I started to really care for Ashley and dislike Matt. He seemed nice and all, but didn’t take Ashely’s word, his best friend, as truth.

Finn I despised her seemed the worst of the lot, I thought maybe he might have a crush on her.  Maybe the incident was going to turn out to be him doing something unthinkable to her. For this I was glad I was wrong about.

The story developed well, and by the last third of the book I could not have put it down if my life depended on it. I had to know what happened to Ashley, I had to know what the Incident was and if she was going to be with Matt.

My main criticism is that there were so many people bullying her and saying horrible things that I am surprised no teachers noticed and tried to stop it from happening. The art teacher should have stayed with her or at least kept her in view after something that horrific happened.

The end was amazing, it was everything I wanted and more. There was only one question I was left asking and that might have been on purpose by the author. Was Older Ashley real?

4 out of five stars

don't even think about itfirst impressionsix months later

