dying to forget

“…With trembling fingers, I reach up and touch the hard and chiseled contours of his chest while Ryan’s large and strong hands roam over my entire body, feeling and squeezing everything. I’ve never been touched like this before and my insides are starting to freak out.

“I want you, Piper,” he murmurs into my neck.

My mouth drops open in surprise and even though my brain seems to be telling me to jump and run out of the room, I’m unable to move, stuck firmly to the same place on the mattress. With my nerves on high alert, I glance at the door repeatedly, sure that someone will come bursting through it at any second but the steady thumping of the music downstairs reminds me that no one can hear what is happening in this room. No one cares that Ryan Burke took me, of all people, into a bedroom. That realization hits me suddenly. Oh. My. God. What am I doing here?”

Piper Willow dies the summer after her high school graduation but she doesn’t make it to Heaven or Hell…instead she finds herself in a spiritual terminal called the Station. She’s given only two choices: Return to Earth as the subconscious for a person in need of some outside assistance, or move on and spend an eternity lost in her own sorrow and pain.

Does Piper have what it takes to save a life – to be the nagging voice inside someone else’s head – or will she fail and end up lost and tormented in limbo…forever?

I raced through this book. It was fantastic. As much as what Piper went through was horrible it made a good dramatic read with being too realistic to the reader and traumatizing them. What happened in her life was over pretty quickly. Then she arrives at The Station. A place where people who take their own lives go to and try and stop others from doing the same.

Although I really enjoyed what happens at the station and her helping others, I felt there was no point as to the build of what happened to her since we don’t meet any of the characters again. Maybe we will later in the series. I hope we do since otherwise it will have been a waste.

The ending got me good. I want to know what happens NOW!!!!!!

I wouldn’t say it’s for the light-hearted, although it doesn’t go into great detail this book does deal with sexual abuse and suicide. Not for younger readers.

4 out of 5 stars

I am using this for the keyword challenge, Month – March Word -To

Similar books in my opinion (clicking picture will take you to the book’s goodreads page)

gone too fardead girls detective agency

the last academt

