Tags

, , ,

neverlove

For seventeen-year-old Abigail, one rash decision leads to an unexpected chance for redemption. At V’Salicus Academy, a unique institute where she trains to become an agent of heaven, she struggles with the pain of her past, the changes of the present and accepts a loveless future until her path – and heart – crosses with Basil’s.

Basil’s off-chance slip of the tongue binds him to a life of servitude to the Devourer, the master of hell. His existence has no upside until a chance meeting with Abigail brings new perspective.

Keeping the truth of their present lives from each other brings disaster when secrets are brought to light and the life of Abigail’s mentor is put on the line.

Can Abigail and Basil save her mentor and salvage their love amid the chaos? Or will they lose it all, destined forever to NEVERLOVE?

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The beginning was really interesting and I found each person’s story interesting and unique, it was good to know what drove them to their current situation.

Abigail was a good character she had a lot of pain in her life, a did feel like she got over it a little quickly for my liking. She trusted too easily for someone who went through that.

Basil was a different situation, seemed to take Drakar’s words too lightly and it put his soul in jeopardy. I did like his view of life though, but once he me Drakar, I was not a fan of how he viewed his parents, seemed like teen angst to me.

Drakar he is a devil, he is very evil being. He purpose is not always clear. Some of his actions did not make sense. Did he know what Basil was before? Is that why he chose him? Seems like an awful big coincidence if he didn’t.

Father Q (sorry cannot find his name so initial will have to do) often acted like a love sick teenager although he was in authority, his actions put himself and others at risk. He was dismissive of other people’s concerns for him and what he was getting himself into.

The middle and the end of the book was a little meh for me. I found myself struggling to finish it (just a little struggle).

The very end was unexpected and I would not have guessed that was going to happen if you gave me a million guesses. So on that note it was unpredictable, but the rest of the story was fairly predictable.

I would read the second book if I happened to come across it but I would not seek it.

3 stars out of 5

