black chalk

One game. Six students. Five survivors.

It was only ever meant to be a game.

A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results.

Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I found this book intriguing but slow to get going. I found myself 20% the way in but not very far into the story, yes there was a lot of background which was useful but I did feel there was too much of it.

It was interesting that we did not find out who the narrator was until a fifth of the way into the book. It was not who I guessed. Very smart move.

The plot was intriguing but it would have been much more exciting if it had moved faster. It was a very good ending, finished the book off nicely.

The characters were interesting, I liked seeing how they were 14years prior and how they were after everything that had happened.

I would recommend this book very much to anyone who likes psychological thrillers.

3.5 stars out of 5.

