Tags

fifteen

Legend has it if you die in your dreams, you die in real life. Fifteen-year-old Ashling Campbell knows that’s not true because when she closes her eyes each night, she doesn’t dream about public nudity or Prom dates. Instead, she’s catapulted to the front row of her future self’s execution – fifteen years from now – where monsters have taken control of her hometown and she, or rather, her 30-year-old counterpart, is their public enemy number one.

For three months and counting, it’s been the same dream… until an encounter with an antique dreamcatcher. Ash falls asleep to discover she’s no longer a mere spectator in these dreams – now she’s astral-projecting into the body of her future self. Each night, she goes on the run with a ragtag group of rebels – who have no idea she’s really a high school sophomore and not their noble warrior. She has to make it through each night so that she can wake up and find a way to change the future. For every action she does in the present day, she falls asleep to discover it had an equal impact fifteen years later. It’s up to her to manage her two worlds and make sure she’s still got a place in both.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

It was an interesting concept, she was dreaming herself in the future, a world so different from our own, a world she didn’t understand. It got worse when she didn’t just see it happen she became the object of the dream, anything that happened to her future self happened to her too.

I thought this was interesting, well written and a nice story. But unfortunately I was only in like and not in love. I felt the characters were a little bland and even though the story was exciting I didn’t feel much of a connection with it. I didn’t feel like I was part of the story, like an amazing book does. Don’t get me wrong it was a good book, but I sometimes think when you have read some really good books the next few will be judged badly. I am worried that’s what happened to this one. Although I tried to be as fair to the book as possible.

Tate seemed like an unnecessary character, I could have lived without him, yes he helped the plot move along but there were other characters who could have done this too.

The idea of time travel through her dream was a brilliant idea and it was what kept me reading to the end. It kept me interested and overall I enjoyed this book.

3.5 stars out of 5

