the heir

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

I received a free 10 chapter excerpt of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I bought this after reading the first ten chapters.

Although I really did not like Eadlyn, she was a spoiled brat and never really changed, it was an okay book.

I really enjoyed the first selection book and the third one was okay, this one probably on par with the third one. There were some great moments but most of the book dragged. The whole of the selection was a farce, and we are only in the first book of this selection.

Kile was a good character but I honestly felt he was too good for Eadlyn and I really want to know who entered his name.

Henri was a nice guy but I didn’t like him, not sure why. I do not want him to win.

I was glad to see Maxon and America back in the books but they both felt like really flat characters and nothing like before. I was sorely disappointed to how they were portrayed in this book.

The way she started to feel about each guy was annoying it was like she was developing feelings for them all. I hope Kile is the one she falls for and marries in the end.

It did have it’s good moments and I will read the next book to see what happens but I am keeping an open mind.

3 out of 5 stars

