talus and the frozen king

Meet Talus-the world’s first detective.

A dead warrior king frozen in winter ice. Six grieving sons, each with his own reason to kill. Two weary travellers caught up in a web of suspicion and deceit.

In a distant time long before our own, wandering bard Talus and his companion Bran journey to the island realm of Creyak, where the king has been murdered. From clues scattered among the island’s mysterious barrows and stone circles, they begin their search for his killer. But do the answers lie in this world or the next?

Nobody is above suspicion, from the king’s heir to the tribal shaman, from the servant woman steeped in herb-lore to the visiting warlord whose unexpected arrival throws the whole tribe into confusion. And when death strikes again, Talus and Bran realise nothing is what it seems. Creyak is place of secrets and spirits, mystery and myth. It will take a clever man indeed to unravel the truth. The kind of man this ancient world has not seen before.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book took me ages to read, I didn’t love it. It was an interesting idea but the story was a little bland and it didn’t hold my interest. It was just all a little slow and felt like the author was trying to make a sherlock character in a fantasy setting and it really didn’t work.

The sons of the murdered King were all unique and I wanted to know what happened so I kept reading, but if this had not been a review book I am not sure I would have finished.

The plot was a little predictable and didn’t often stray into exciting territory.

Talus was on okay character a little too much like Sherlock for my liking, would have been better if he had his own personality a little more. Bran was hot-headed and not my favourite character at all.

It wasn’t terrible but I don’t think I will be reading anything else from this author.

3 out of 5 stars

