the last if the firedrakes

16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn’t seem so bad.

Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms—including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora’s arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear.

With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever.

Out the 15th of August this year!!!!!

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I loved this book from the start. I love discovering new worlds and different kinds of magic. This book had both of these in droves. I love the world and all the characters. Aurora grew with the story, but not quite quick enough for me, she kept making silly decisions that put herself and the others at risk. I know she is only 16 but she was quite immature and not making the best decisions, going against the advice of everyone that cared about her time and time again.

I found this a nice easy read which had enough depth to keep me happy. I loved learning about the history of the country and Aurora’s family.

I felt that Aurora was a little too special, without giving too much away, every way in which she could be special, she was, no matter how rare or unheard of it, was met the brief in every way. Yes I know it makes it interesting, but it can just feel a little too much at times.

I found Damian reminded me of Draco Malfoy, which was good because he felt familiar to me from the start. He just got meaner and meaner throughout the book and unlike Draco, he was a little two faced at times.

Rafe was mysterious for most of the book and I did not guess who he was, the big reveal was a big surprise to me.

The rest of the book was a little predictable but not enough to put me off. I am really looking forward to the next book in the series.

4 out of 5 stars

