Tags

,

the silent ones

He’ll do whatever it takes to find his missing sister.

Darren Evans was only eleven when his beloved sister Carly and four other teenage girls disappeared, sparking a huge police investigation.

Eventually, a woman confessed to their murders. But although she admitted her guilt, Olivia Duvall refused to say what had happened to those five missing girls. Or where their bodies might lie.

Ten years later, Darren’s family are still no closer to the truth. Desperate to alleviate his parents’ heartbreak, Darren gets a job as a cleaner in the psychiatric hospital where Olivia was committed, hoping he can make her tell him his sister’s fate once and for all.

But playing a killer is a very dangerous game . . .

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This was a book full of mystery and intrigue and I lapped up every moment. I was guessing  my through and never coming up with the right until the very end. Through the book I found myself distrusting the wrong characters and loving it. I liked that it wasn’t predictable and I was kept guessing. I sometimes got confused at the change of POV, especially when it was characters that I deemed not important and not really necessary.

Darren was a great character, I liked learning along with him, seeing his anguish and need to find his sister. Although he knew the risks of what he was doing, he did it anyway.

I loved how the start we saw from Olivia’s POV, it started the book off with a bang of mystery. I was wracking my brain through the whole book, as to why she did it.

The ending cleared all mystery’s for me but one. Which wasn’t really a mystery it was more of a guessing on my part and I want to know!! But all the main mysteries were cleared up and I enjoyed the ending, not at all what I was expecting.

4 out of 5 stars

