Howl at the moon

Eighth graders, Ben, Jake and Leah need cash, and mowing lawns in the winter just isn’t cutting it. Their need for cash births the Liarus (Liars R Us) Detective Agency! Their first client is Old Lady Smitz, who is said to have murdered her three sons and husband. She’s missing a family heirloom, but it’s not just any old trinket, it’s the crest of Lykoi. There are only two rules: No girls are allowed and never seal a deal with the witch doctor. Disregarding danger, these three discover that money is usually more trouble than it’s worth!

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I was a little unsure of this book at first, But after a little while I began to love it 🙂 The story was very clever, three young teenagers trying to play detective. The characters were fun and very lifelike. I liked the relationship between Ben and Leah, just wish a little more came of it, but then again there may be more books in the series.

I love the introduction the fantasy elements in normal life, there was enough shock of seeing something paranormal from the characters to keep me satisfied. I loved the fantasy element, I am not usually a fan of werewolves, I often think they are done badly, but in this book I loved it. It was original and well described.

I am looking forward to reading more from this series and this author.

4 out of 5 stars

