Tags

, , , ,

the potion diaries

When the Princess of Nova accidentally poisons herself with a love potion meant for her crush, she falls crown-over-heels in love with her own reflection. Oops. A nationwide hunt is called to find the cure, with competitors travelling the world for the rarest ingredients, deep in magical forests and frozen tundras, facing death at every turn.

Enter Samantha Kemi – an ordinary girl with an extraordinary talent. Sam’s family were once the most respected alchemists in the kingdom, but they’ve fallen on hard times, and winning the hunt would save their reputation. But can Sam really compete with the dazzling powers of the ZoroAster megapharma company? Just how close is Sam willing to get to Zain Aster, her dashing former classmate and enemy, in the meantime?

And just to add to the pressure, this quest is ALL OVER social media. And the world news.

No big deal, then.

Review

I really enjoyed this book, I devoured it in one sitting. It was magical romantic and had lots of potions in it, which I love.

The premise was clever and very well thought out. The setting was beautiful although I never found out where it was, America maybe. I liked the use of our world with magic built in. The potion making was brilliant, I could not have asked for more on that front. The Hunt was clever and full of surprises.

Eve and Lyn was extremely inventive and well written. It was fun to read from Eve’s point of view.

Kemi’s POV was more of action packed and for that I was thankful. She was clever and worked things out rationally and always stuck up for what she knew was right. I was also good to see her let her guard down at times, she was confident of herself but also relied on others when needed.

Zain was a good love interest. He was there often but although I felt I always knew what was going to happen with him Kemi didn’t. At times it was a little predictable.

I would recommend this to anyone who loves fantasy.

4 out of 5 stars

Recommended for people who like

poisonpoison studyGraceling greenAkarnae

