crystal  magic

Nothing is safe around Kristyl Barnette. Windows break. Books rocket across the room. Lights flicker. Strange occurrences follow the sixteen-year-old everywhere.

When tragedy forces her to move to the small town of Clearwater, Michigan, with her estranged aunt Jodi, Kristyl tries to leave her past behind. But Clearwater has secrets of its own—a mystical history that intersects with Kristyl’s life and might shed light on the inexplicable events that plague her.

When a mysterious illness threatens her aunt’s life, Kristyl will do anything to cure her. Enlisting the help of witches could save Jodi, but is dealing in magic worth the consequences?

I enjoyed this book. I liked the introduction of magic and how we got to know the characters as the main character did. I did sometimes feel that there was two separate stories going on. I did like that the town had magical history I just wish we got to read more of it.

I loved Owen, I really wanted him to be real and wished there was more of him. I didn’t like how there was no sight of him in the last few chapters, I do hope things work out well for him in the end.

If there was more magic and how it works it would have been better. I think for a story about magic there wasn’t enough.

I really enjoyed the setting, the town was great, I loved how all the characters knew each other. The close friends of Bria, Owen etc was good except I was a little confused at proposed pairings at times.

I was planning to review this 4 stars but the ending just didn’t gel well with me. After that I am not sure I will read the next one. Depends on how much it costs.

3 out of 5 stars

