angels of moirai

Since man first walked the earth, the Angels of Moirai have watched over them. Born human, they are taught never to feel, never to become attached, and never to become emotionally compromised.

Eighteen-year-old Lila Kingston is haunted by dreams of a mysterious angel. Suddenly the dramas of her broken family and the snobby rich kids at her school fail in comparison to the challenges she must face.

Hailing from the Angels of Moirai, James Taylor has been entrusted with the fate of lives from around the world for over a thousand years. His sole purpose is to ensure every mortal follows their designated path, but when Lila puts that very purpose at risk, he must make a choice—a choice that ultimately leads to the devastating consequences of a love never meant to exist.

The choice was never easy. Those kind of choices never are…

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

First off, the cover is amazing, it’s the main reason I requested this book. The book started off really well and then went down hill a little at the half way point. There were quite a few similarities to Twilight. I know books can have similar traits and still be original, but it was in some of the details, so did annoy me a little, there seems to be too many books like that these days.

Anyway back to the book at hand. I liked the characters and the writing style. I could have done with more on the setting, I have no clue as to where this takes place other than America, and that’s just an educated guess. I wish there was a little more interaction between Lila and James in the beginning. Her feelings just seemed out of no-where. I did seem like it was trying to reflect the connection between Edward and Bella. James was hot and cold with Lila and their relationship was a little odd.

I enjoyed the history of the Angels, I just wish there was more of it. I know it’s only the first book so hoping there will be more in the next book.

The book is aimed at YA readers and if you are a Twilight fan you should like this book.

3.5 stars out 5

