the book of a thousand days

When a beautiful princess refuses to marry the prince her father has chosen, her father is furious. So furious he locks her in a tower, where she has seven long years of solitude to think about her insolence. But when she escapes from the tower, she finds her land has been laid to waste and the kingdom destroyed.

This was the first of Shannon Hale’s books I have read, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was a little unsure of the way it was written at first and had no clue as to where it was going. Soon I didn’t care I was living it and along for the ride wherever it took me.

I loved the way the story unfolded, going back and offering information on the girls lives when it was needed. I would have liked a little more description on the gods and history of the lands.

Being that it is classed a YA book I think most of the was appropriate but the end did have some parts that are probably not suitable for younger teens.

I had some Rapunzel influences, which nice but not enough to make it seem like typical retelling.

I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

4 out of 5 stars

