thief of lies

Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

Jumping into some of the world’s most beautiful libraries would be a dream come true for Gia, if she weren’t busy resisting her heart or dodging an exiled wizard seeking revenge on both the Mystik and human worlds. Add a French flirt obsessed with Arik and a fling with a young wizard, and Gia must choose between her heart and her head, between Arik’s world and her own, before both are destroyed.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

First of all I LOVE this cover, it just radiates magic and it’s set in a library. The idea of a library jumper enticed me from the very start. It’s one of these things that I wish I could do. This lived up to expectations, plenty of time was spent in libraries, which I loved.

The fantasy elements were well executed, very cleverly written and fun to read about. I love a mystery and trying to work them out, but there were just a few too many twists in this book for me. One was at least a little resolved then a brand new revelation that changed everything would come to light. Yes, it’s good it’s complex and I didn’t see most of it coming but it was a little much. More clues to some of the revelations would have been good.

Gia is a strong character and adepts well. maybe a little too well. She is loyal and adepts well since some of her new powers must have been hard to handle.

Arik sounded lovely, not just gorgeous, but a decent person, if not a bit moody.

I was getting a little sick of them saying “Just Friends” to each other, it happened at least six times, if it happened much more I was going to be screaming at the book.

There were a lot of characters in this book but I found it easy to keep them all straight, which is a credit to the author. I think I only got mixed up once and I owe that to tiredness. They all have separate personalities and quirks that made them identifiable.

Overall this is a fantastic book and I am realy looking forward to reading the next one.

4 out of 5 stars

Recommended for people who like:

Akarnaesin eater's daughterfalling kingdoms

