red queen

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have literally finished this book less than 10minutes ago and I am still reeling from it. I wanted to get this review done before I forget how I feeling now.

It started out fine but nothing amazing, just felt like any other YA fantasy book, which is fine since I do love those. But it just got better and better.

The characters were good, although at times I did find myself getting confused between the two princes, they were interchangeable at times in my head, which was a little off putting. I like characters that have completely different personalities.

The distinguishing features between the reds and the silvers were very interesting to me. I was always wanting more information.

Mare was a strong and loyal character, she put herself through hell for her friends and family. I was rooting for her to do the best she could even though everything was stacked against her.

Cal had a bit of a hot and cold personality, which did annoy me slightly, there was not quite enough evidence of his badness for me.

Maven, I loved, he is the Prince you want as next king, a friend to all and just the perfect guy. Some of his choices did shock me though.

I am now struggling to find things to say without giving everything away. This book blew me away at the end, everything I thought was correct was tipped and I didn’t even see it coming. I cannot wait for the next book. I will be buying at soon as I can.

4 out of 5 stars

Recommended for fans of

poison studyGraceling sword

the selectionthe pain merchants

 

