school of deaths

Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death?

Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio always believed the Grim Reaper was a fairy tale image of a skeleton with a scythe. Now, forced to enter the College of Deaths, she finds herself training to bring souls from the Living World to the Hereafter. The task is demanding enough, but as the only female in the all-male College, she quickly becomes a target. Attacked by both classmates and strangers, Suzie is alone in a world where even her teachers want her to fail.

Scythes hungry for souls, Deaths who subjugate a race of mysterious magicians, and echoes of an ancient war with Dragons.

As her year progresses, Suzie suspects her presence isn’t an accident. She uncovers a plot to overthrow the World of Deaths. Now she must also discover the reason she’s been brought there: the first female Death in a million years.

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I wanted to love this book the idea behind it was very clever and full of surprises, but it just didn’t give me what I wanted. It was very juvenile, I know it’s a young adult book but this felt like a children’s book with swear words thrown in and it just didn’t work for me. There were lot’s of inconsistency in the plot, just small one but they annoyed me, little things like someone speaks but they are meant to have already left the room, small but it they do annoy me, this sort of thing happened quite regularly in this book.

There was a lot of repetition, they kept going on about her being a girl and how it wasn’t right, it got on my nerves.

The story itself was good, I didn’t trust most of the characters but that shows I did get into the story and cared for Suzie. She was a good main character and fought her way through, there was a few things that at 13 she should have grasped on to a little quicker.

Although I did enjoy this I do not think I will be reading the second book in the series, it was okay but I am not invested enough to keep on reading, I struggled to finish at the end.

2.5 stars out of 5

