black rabbit hall

Amber and Toby and Barney and Kitty.

The four Alton children spend every day of the hot Cornish summer playing games on sun-baked lawns or building dens in the dark woods. Endless days of laughter and fun, without an adult in sight.

But no one can foresee the storm that will bring it all to a tragic end.

Afterwards, Black Rabbit Hall, their home, with its endless corridors and ancient creaking clocks, is a twisted and changed place, set to steal the last vestiges of their childhood and innocence. A home that not all of the Altons will be strong enough to survive.

Now, thirty years later, a message from one of the Alton children is discovered carved into an old oak tree. Could the tangled truth of that terrible summer finally creep into the light? Or should some secrets be left in the past for good?

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I am a huge Kate Morton fan, this book just screamed secrets, deception and lies. All the things that I love in this sort of book. Although there was quite a lot of the desired subjects, they were a little too mundane for me. It was too obvious and I guessed the secrets quite early on in the book.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this, I loved the setting and the story was good even though I had worked out a lot of it. I really loved the idea of Black Rabbit Hall and how it got it’s name.

I was rooting for the Alton children the whole way through, I wanted them to get away from the hate and just survive until they were old enough to get away.

The tragic parts were just that, tragic, they really pulled on my heartstrings.

Barney’s secret was not really a secret and not really worth waiting for. It didn’t really bring anything new to the story that we didn’t already know.

I would read more by this author. The writing was great and overall I really enjoyed this book.

3 out of 5 stars

Recommended for people who like:

the house at rivertonfrost hollow hall

