threats of sky and sea

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share.

Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time.

But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war.

Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.

Review

Wow what a start to a series. I was hooked from the very first page which is extremely rare. I was wanting to know more and more, I kept guessing at what was going to happen, something things I did manage to work out and some only half guessed, but certain parts I completely clueless, which is the perfect combination. I like to at least feel I work some of it out.

The characters were amazing, Breena’s spunky attitude was great, I kept looking forward to quips. It also helped that she was learning along with the reader, made the writing smoother and flow better.  Prince Caden was swoon worthy and hopefully one day make a just King (if he ever gets that far).

Princess Aleta was a mystery to me at first, I wasn’t sure how things were going to with her, but as the story went on, we got to know her better and things made sense.

Lady Kat is force to be reckoned with. I didn’t think anything could shock her, nice to know one thing could. She is definitely a good baddie.

Adept Tregle was another character who’s loyalty’s I was unsure of but by the end his side was clear, he was a good background character.

The unfolding of this story was superbly done, I read this in a day and I still want more. I want to know what happens now, and the story behind Breena’s Da’s disappearance. And what happened to her mum?

I love stories with magic and this was about people have abilities to do the four elements. I loved the magic in this, it was exciting but not overbearing. I hope there is plenty more in the next book.

If you haven’t read this I suggest you do it soon. It’s really worth it.

5 out of 5 stars

Recommended for people who enjoyed:

poison study red queen

