dark heart of magic

Something Wicked This Way Comes…

As a thief, I stick to the shadows as much as possible. But when the head of the Sinclair Family picks me to compete in the Tournament of Blades, there’s no escaping the spotlight—or the danger.

Even though he’s my competition, Devon Sinclair thinks I have the best shot at winning what’s supposed to be a friendly contest. But when the competitors start having mysterious “accidents,” it looks like someone will do anything to win—no matter who they hurt.

As if I didn’t have enough to worry about, mobster Victor Draconi is plotting against Devon and the rest of my friends, and someone’s going around Cloudburst Falls murdering monsters. One thing’s for sure. Sometimes, humans can be more monstrous than anything else…

I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I got into this book much quicker than the first, I already loved the characters and the setting, but I was a little unsure as to where this could go at the beginning but ended up loving it. I loved how there was a couple of new characters but not too many and we got to see the older ones that I knew and loved. Vance was an interesting character, he was on the good side (or what I like to think of as the good side) yet he was still an ass.

I loved how the Victor Draconi issue was there but it wasn’t the focus of the story, the tournament took center stage, it gave the book more depth which I love in books.

The storyline was great and kept me guessing as to how it was all going to turn out, I did guess what was happening to the monsters pretty early on but I wouldn’t exactly say it was predictable. There was still parts I couldn’t guess at.

I didn’t really like how Lila, Devon and Felix always seemed to be there where trouble started or had just been, seems a little to coincidental.

I am very much looking forward to the third book, I think it’s going to be super exciting and full of action.

4 out of 5 stars

Similar books in my opinion

the final empirered queen

