blaxk ice

Danger is hard to resist in this sexy thriller from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

Britt Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there…and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

“Rife with psychological twists exploring themes of revenge, misogyny, and familial duty” (Publishers Weekly), Black Ice is New York Times bestselling author Becca Fitzpatrick’s riveting romantic thriller set against the treacherous backdrop of the mountains of Wyoming. Falling in love should never be this dangerous…

Review

I liked this book, but there was some parts that were just way over the top and I wanted to shout “What was she thinking?”.
The overall story was good. It was full of suspense and action. It left me wondering who was the bad guy. I did guess correctly but I wasn’t 100% sure. The interaction between Korbie and Britt was strange, they were supposed best friends, but all they did was keep secrets and try to get one over on each other.
Calvin seemed like the nice boy next door at the start but as the book went on, it was revealed he was a jackass. I don’t understand why she put up with it. I know she was only seventeen but come-on.
There was a little too much “I am attracted the guy who kidnapped me” going on for my liking.

But all in all it was a good story. I would recommend it to my friends.

Four out of five stars.

Reread notes

Korbie was a horrible friend, why would Britt put up with her, she seemed to let people walk over her. The growth in Britt was good but far too fast. I would have liked a little more from Mason, I think we could have found out more about what happened to his sister. And more on what happened to Calvin at the end.

I did enjoy the reread I didn’t remember it all so it wasn’t too spoiled.

Still 4 out of 5 stars

