the purple girl

The Purple Girl by Audrey Kane.

Caution!
Violet’s purple spreads to everything she touches…

Violet lives behind garden walls. Is she magical? Is she the devil’s child—or simply cursed? When the lonely thirteen-year-old embarks on a dangerous journey to find the one boy that dared to befriend her, she travels at night…in the dark…to keep people from seeing her purple skin.

But no one is more surprised than Violet when she unlocks her mysterious gift.

Although The Purple Girl was written as fun read to capture the imagination of middle grade readers, discrimination is at the core of the story…but so are possibilities, and they appear everywhere. (Synopsis from Goodreads).

I Received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I thought this book was fun and refreshing, it was aimed at younger readers and sent out a positive message whilst being thoroughly enjoyable. Violet was a great modest, young girl just trying to find her place in the world. She knows running away was wrong but felt like it was what she had to do. I was not a fan of Frankie, he seemed like bit of a mean person (trying to clean it polite since it is a kids book).

The setting was wonderful and the ending was my favourite part. It was so nice and left me smiling. I felt fulfilled by the story and was not left wanting. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a light story or wants a nice friendly book for their children.

The messages in this book were: be true to who you are, be nice to everyone no matter if they are different to you. Plus many more, but these were the ones that stood out to me.

Would I read more from this author? Yes.

4 out of 5 stars.

